Master Key Journey with Susan

Reflections of a new journey

Week 6: Am I a “Sucker”? vs. I’m in the “Flow”!

on November 10, 2013

Real Life:

Well, you know how some stories seem to really come to life.  Welcome to my week 6 and let the testing begin.  This week I know my subconscious mind is working because I had a choice to make with a new client.   In my profession, I do hands on body work.  I imagespractice craniosacral therapy, which is mostly a light touch modality, that works deep in the body’s nervous system and deals with physical structures and energy in the body.

Today, it is a story of testing my authentic self, trusting another, and faith of the omnipresent energy.  So here is what happened to me.  I met with a potential client for my craniosacral services.  First of all, I have not been advertising or focusing on my practice.  I do not currently have an office, and I only do mobile services which means I travel to their office, home or location.  Out of blue, I get this call which leads to an introductory meeting.   As a professional, I gather my marketing materials and fee schedule and head to the appointment.

For your information some of my natural tendencies are to take care of others like taking soup to a sick friend, transportation to a doctor appointment,  plain companionship, and believing everything I hear as truth, which in the past has led to being taken advantage of my time, money, and being the object of a joke otherwise known as a “sucker”.  Have you figured out where this is going yet?

Meeting My Authentic Self:

self worth imageThe bottom line is the client has no money.  Yet, there is something about him.  I hear Og Mandino in my head saying :

“I will greet this day with love in my heart.    For this is the greatest secret of success in all ventures.”

and I am also, reading an index card daily, which invites the law of “Giving and Receiving” into my life.  It has 4 promises written on it to which is soaking into my being.

This is where my authentic self stands up on the call of the subconscious mind.  I am questioning my worth as a professional health care provider to wave the fee or turn the client away.  If I turn him away, how is that serving or giving?  How does that make me feel?

Trusting Others:

Did I mention how unique this young man was?  He speaks his truth and his faith in God provides  lessons, truly anyone could learn.  He is  in his early thirties, he has lived through being in a coma for over 167 days, and has truly re-learned every thing as child from eating, to talking, walking and running.  His inner light radiates from within and shines brightly, even though he is in chronic pain every minute of every day.   He is building his professional speaking business, working with churches and assorted organizations.

Some say he is using me,  others say I’m wasting my time, and in my core I know different.   I choose TRUST!

Faith of Omnipresent Energy:

How awesome is it to know that while I am assessing this client from my point of view,  he is assessing me from his point of view! spok mind meld Energy is everywhere!   This young man, must decide if my therapy will actually get him relief of chronic pain.  Just as, I believe this relationship is going to benefit my life in someway, perhaps not even in a way I think is possible,  he believes, feels, and senses my energy that he will get results.  It was a mind meld, a unique moment and the birth of something great between us.

The End of the Story:

As I will continually get tested, every day, or minute,  at least I feel confident this day was successful!  For today let the world know:  I’m in the Flow of Giving and Receiving.

10 responses to “Week 6: Am I a “Sucker”? vs. I’m in the “Flow”!

  1. Susan, that was wonderful to read!
    Trust your instincts always.
    I have followed the words of my mentor many times when it comes to clients who don’t have enough funds to pay for my treatments. He always used to say ” Take the treatment when you need it and pay when you can.”
    I have never been disappointed when saying that to a client.

  2. Heather says:

    I loved your post… and the shot of Spock. What a classic. Where are you located… I have always wanted to get craniosacral therapy!

    • mentorsusan says:

      Hi Heather, Thank you! It was a surprise to me to see how Spock and CST had similar hand placement. Spock uses a bit more pressure than me. LOL. I am in the St. Pete, FL area. I know some practitioners in the NE area. I can check with you for your area and who I know.

  3. Susan Higley says:

    Thank you Lotta, As grounded as therapist can be, this week is really expanding my energy.

  4. Susan, first of all, your blog LOOKS beautiful. Secondly, I love your heart. I know it will come back to you in ways you never imagined.

    • mentorsusan says:

      Hi Fran,
      Mahalo for the kind words. I’m looking forward to getting to know you at a deeper level. Even though we are cultures apart, states apart, we are still in a journey together. Aloha!

  5. Ed says:

    Hi Susan. You may or may not remember me, but my wife and I met you briefly at The Event in Kauai. After reading your post, I wish I had gotten to know you and your husband better.
    I love you for the heart that beats in your body, and I imagine that your husband’s heart beats in kind. I too, have given, and been called a sucker, but I just got to the point where I decided that I don’t care what anyone says, but I’m proud that I am doing what Christ (yes, I’m a Christian) would have me do, without expectation of reciprocity.
    I commend you for giving of yourself freely, and I urge you to keep doing what you feel in your heart you should do… Stay in the flow of giving, and you know you’ll also be receiving, if not now, eventually for sure.
    Great post Susan, and I hope I have an opportunity to meet you and your husband again, and get to know you both better. God Bless You!

    • mentorsusan says:

      Hi Ed,
      Yes, I remember we have a brief encounter in Hawaii. I look forward to seeing you again at another event. Remarkable things happen when I trust myself and my God. Blessing and Love to you.

  6. Brent Vachon says:

    What a great story Susan, its what this program is all about, THE LAW OF GIVING AND RECEIVING…. and trusting your intuition…really enjoyed the read

    • mentorsusan says:

      Hi Brent,
      The Law of Giving and Receiving is working daily. May you find joy and peace on your journey and I look forward to meeting you in person at an event in Hawaii or other exotic place in the future.

Leave a Reply

